Home TherapiesMindfulness exercises Sahaja Yoga: That’s behind it

Sahaja Yoga: That’s behind it

by Josephine Andrews
Published: Last Updated on 321 views

Anything but superficial: Sahaja Yoga focuses on meditation and stillness. Through inner peace, yogis can strengthen their emotional resilience and achieve individual self-realization. Read more about this yoga style here.

What is Sahaja Yoga?

The Indian Dr. Nirmala Srivastava, also called Shri Mataji Nirmala Devi, started Sahaja Yoga in 1970. With her yoga style, she continued the tradition of classical, spiritual yoga that was more than a thousand years old. The word “Sahaja” means spontaneous and refers to the awakening of the so-called Kundalini energy, which is supposed to connect the human being in the heart with the higher self and lead to individual self-realization.

The aim of Sahaja Yoga is that yogis can lead a peaceful and harmonious life through practice. When self-realization is successful, yogis feel it through a breeze caressing their hand or head.

Meditation is an important element in Sahaja Yoga. This is intended to awaken the superior power that is present in every human being. The teaching assumes that energy channels (nadis) and energy centers (chakras) in the body are responsible for the well-being of people – on a physical, mental, emotional and spiritual level. The nadis and chakras together are also referred to as the subtle system.

Three nadis are of particular importance: There is a central channel (Sushumna Nadi). It leads along the spine to the highest chakra. Ida Nadi is located on the left side of the body and directs the energy of desire; the right channel (pingala nadi) is responsible for mental and physical activities.

The seven main chakras run from the spine up to the crown of the head. They are broken down as follows:

  • The root chakra (Muladhara Chakra) – it is located at the end of the spine and stands for basic trust, wisdom and security.
  • The sacral chakra (Svadhistana chakra) – it is in the area of ​​the abdomen and affects, among other things, sexuality and creativity.
  • The Navel Chakra (Manipura Chakra) – This chakra is above the belly button and represents contentment and generosity.
  • The Heart Chakra (Anahata Chakra) – it is all about love and empathy .
  • The Throat Chakra (Vishudda Chakra) – it is related to communication.
  • The Brow Chakra (Ajna Chakra) – Intuition and visualization are related to this chakra.
  • The crown chakra (Sahasrara chakra) – it is located on the crown of the head and represents the connection to the spiritual.

If the chakras are blocked, the energy in the body can no longer flow freely and problems arise. Kundalini is said to strengthen the chakras.

How exactly does Sahja Yoga work?

Each Sahja Yoga program lasts about 90 minutes and is divided into theory and practice. The theory deals with the details of the so-called subtle body, including the chakras, the nadis and Kundalini. But philosophy and reference to everyday life are also taught. Practice is clearly the more important part, as physical and neural experience must validate theory.

Simple cleaning techniques will be presented – including the interaction with the elements earth, fire, water and air. There are also mantras, music and poetry. Art plays a special role, because creativity makes it possible to express the grandeur of creation.

Who is Sahaja Yoga suitable for?

Sahaja Yoga is for everyone – without exception. It has now arrived in about 120 countries and is practiced by people from all sorts of socio-economic and cultural backgrounds. Sahaja Yoga is not superficial, but goes deep. It is not yoga of ego stylization, but of self-knowledge, true to the motto: “Know yourself, know the world”.

You may also like

Leave a Comment